|
| Press Center |
|
|
|
|
Home
About Google Press Center Resources News from Google Google Channel Google Podium Media Room Awards Permissions Product Descriptions Reviewer's Guides Related Product Info Google Labs Software Principles Related Corporate Info Milestones Executive Bios Governance Privacy Policy Investor Relations |
|
|
Reviewer's Guides We have created a number of guides for journalists who are interested in reviewing these products. Each one details the product features, includes screen shots and provides a PR contact. We will continue to add new reviewer's guides to this page as new products become available.
Blog Search Using the same technology that powers Google's web search, Google Blog Search provides fresh, relevant search results from millions of feed-enabled blogs. Users can search for blog posts, blog names, authors, or a specific date range. Blog Search Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 1.4MB) Back to top
Blogger Blogger is Google's web-based publishing tool that gives people the ability to publish to the web instantly in a blog format. Blogs are web pages made up of short, informal, frequently updated posts that are arranged chronologically. Blogger Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 3.9MB) Back to top
Custom Search Engine Built with Google's core search technology, Custom Search Engine prioritizes or restricts search results based on websites and pages that users specify, and can be tailored to reflect their point of view or area of expertise. There are features for customizing the look and feel, monetizing through Google AdSense, and collaborating with others to include more sites in their search index. Custom Search Engine Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 2.5MB) Back to top
Gmail Gmail is Google's free webmail service. It comes with more than 2,600 megabytes (and increasing every day) of free storage and built-in Google search technology. Because of its capacity and search capabilities, users don't need to stay ahead of webmail storage limitations, unearth messages buried in folders, or worry about taming an unruly inbox. Gmail users can keep all of their important messages, files and pictures in a single place, and search them quickly and easily to find whatever they're looking for. Gmail also offers a new way of viewing messages as part of conversations. And Gmail's powerful spam filtering eliminates spam from one's daily routine. Gmail is currently available in 38 different languages, and offers virus protection, customizable from-addresses, and free automatic forwarding and POP access. It is also accessible for free on web-enabled mobile phones and devices. Gmail is in beta and is available by invitation or by receiving an invitation code to your mobile phone. Gmail Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 1.4MB) Gmail Chat Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 2.6MB) Gmail Mobile Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 333KB) Back to top
Google Calendar Google Calendar is a free web-based calendar service that makes it easier to keep all the calendar information important to you in one place. Google Calendar also enables you to share your own calendar information, whether you want to send party invitations to friends, or if you want to publicize events from your website. And Google Calendar uses open standards like iCal and XML, so it's compatible with many other calendar formats. Google Calendar Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 1.2MB) New! Back to top
Google Desktop Google Desktop is a free client application that allows you to easily search and personalize your computer. It provides full text search over email, files, music, photos, chats, web pages that you've viewed, and more. By making your computers searchable, Google Desktop puts your information easily within your reach and frees you from having to manually organize your files. Google Desktop also helps you gather new information from the web with Sidebar and Google Gadgets, visually appealing mini-applications that can display anything from your new email to the local weather forecast to personalized news. With Google Desktop, you get personalized information when you want it, right on your desktop. Google Desktop Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 3.6MB) Google Desktop for the Mac Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 1.5MB) Back to top
Google Earth Google Earth delivers a 3D digital model of the entire earth via the Internet. The groundbreaking EarthStream™ technology combines advanced 3D graphics and network streaming innovations in a high performance system that runs on standard PCs and commodity servers. Users can point and zoom to anyplace on the planet. Satellite images zoom into view, enhanced by Google search to show local points of interest and facts. Google Earth Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 3.2MB) Back to top
Google Finance Google Finance (beta) offers a broad range of information about stocks, mutual funds and public and private companies along with charts, news and fundamental financial data. Users can search for stocks and funds by name; plot market data with corresponding news stories; participate in discussion groups; learn about company management; keep track of their portfolios; and read relevant blog posts from across the web. Google Finance Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 4.2MB) New! Back to top
Google Groups Google Groups enables easy participation in Internet discussion groups by providing users with tools to search, read and browse these groups and to post messages of their own. Users can quickly create their own announcement lists, mailing lists and public discussions. Every Google Group has its own Google-fast search, which makes it easy to find discussions deep in a group's archive. Google Groups Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 244KB) Back to top
Google Maps for mobile Google Maps for mobile is designed to search for and find local hangouts and businesses using directions, maps and satellite imagery directly from your phone. It's a free application for route finding, city sampling, and getting on the go information. Google Maps for mobile Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 2.1MB) Back to top
Google News for mobile Using your web-enabled phone, Google News for mobile devices keeps you updated on current news articles when you're on the go. Access top headlines, browse through news categories, or search for exactly the stories you want – all in a phone-friendly format that's easy to read and navigate. Google News for mobile devices Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 786KB) Back to top
Google Notebook Google Notebook is a free browser tool that makes web research of all kinds – from planning a vacation to comparison shopping to purchasing a car – easier and more efficient. It enables users to collect clips of web content in an online Notebook without ever leaving the web page they're on. Users can then add notes to their clippings, organize their notebooks into sections, and make their notebooks public for other users to view on the Google Notebook search page. Google Notebook Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 1.4MB) Back to top
Google Personalized Homepage Personalized Homepage is a Google Labs product that enables users to add their favorite content to their main Google.com page. With a simple drag and drop functionality, users may customize the page with items including Google News headlines, weather updates, stock quotes, and content feeds from their favorite sources. Personalized Homepage Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 1MB) Back to top
Google Personalized Home for mobile devices Google Personalized Home for mobile combines Google functionality with content from across the web to deliver your hand-picked content in a way that's easy to read and navigate on your mobile device. Personalized Home for mobile Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 351KB) Back to top
Google Webmaster Tools Google's free webmaster tools help to make sites more Google-friendly. These easy-to-use tools enable webmasters to see Google's view of their site, diagnose problems, and share information with us in order to improve the visibility of their sites in Google search results. Google Webmaster Tools Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 560KB) Back to top
Google SMS (Short Message Service) Google SMS enables users to access information that is especially helpful when on the go. It enables you to search for certain kinds of information from a mobile phone or handheld device and returns your search results as text messages: phone book listings, movie showtimes, weather, facts, dictionary definitions, product prices and more. Google SMS Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 361KB) New! Back to top
Google Talk This downloadable Windows application enables users to make calls or send instant messages via their computers. All you need is an Internet connection, a microphone and a speaker. Google Talk works with any computer speaker and microphone – many laptops today have these built-in – and with wired and wireless headsets and USB phones. Google Talk Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 803KB) Back to top
Google Toolbar Google Toolbar is a free browser tool that makes web browsing more efficient and effective. With the Toolbar, users can access Google search from any website, get instant search suggestions as they type, and even specify custom searches. In addition to search tools, users can share web pages via email, blog, or SMS, add buttons and bookmarks, translate words, check spelling on web forms, block pop-up ads, and much more. Google Toolbar is available for Internet Explorer and for Firefox on the Windows, Macintosh and Linux platforms. Google Toolbar Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 670KB) Back to top
Google Video This video search service enables users to discover all kinds of interesting videos produced by professionals and enthusiasts. Within Google Video lies the Google Video store, the first open video marketplace where viewers can buy and rent a wide range of video content from major television networks, cable programmers, independent producers, filmmakers and individual creators. This content is viewable using the Google video player. Video Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 3.3MB) Back to top
Personalized Search Personalized Search orders Google search results based on what is most relevant to an individual user. The Search History feature of Personalized Search enables users to view and manage their history of searches and which results they've clicked on. Over time, this information personalizes future searches by bringing results closer to the top when it's clear they are the most relevant. Personalized Search Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 1MB) Back to top
Picasa Picasa is free downloadable software that helps users instantly find, edit and share all the digital pictures on their PCs. Each time they open Picasa, it automatically locates photos and sorts them into visual albums organized by date with recognizable folder names. Picasa also provides advanced editing features and powerful effects, making it easy to share pictures via email, printing, on gift CDs, or on a blog. Picasa Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 4.7MB) Back to top
Reader Google Reader is a web-based feed reader that makes it easy to find and subscribe to online feeds. With the Reader, users can organize and stay current with the ever-increasing amount of web information they consume every day. Reader Reviewer's Guide (PDF - 1.3MB) Back to top
|
|||
|